If you are accused of marijuana possession, your rights and future are on the line.
Make sure you contact a possession lawyer at the onset who will fight for your rights and defend your freedom.
Even though possession, sale and use of marijuana is illegal on a federal law level, a handful of states have made strides to decriminalize the substance for medical and even non-medical use. At this time, just two states – Colorado and Washington –have made it legal to possess and sell marijuana for either medical or non-medical use. This is definitely not the case in our state, however, because Texas has some of the most stringent drug laws in the United States.
If you ever find yourself in a situation where you are charged with marijuana possession or the possession of another controlled substance, you need the qualified and experienced representation of a possession or marijuana lawyer from Hayes, Berry, White & Vanzant, L.L.P.
What You Should Know About Drug Possession
On a federal and state level, the possession, manufacture, distribution and sale of controlled substances are illegal – except in states that have made exceptions for marijuana. Controlled substances, other than marijuana, include drugs like cocaine, heroin and illegal prescription drugs. Both federal and state courts can try anyone caught with any of these controlled substances.
“Both federal and state courts can try anyone caught with any of these controlled substances.”
Drug possession is a serious offense in the state of Texas that can have long-lasting effects. Depending on the amount of controlled substances in a person’s possession, he or she could face hefty fines, driver’s license suspension and even jail time. Additionally, drug offenses can also go on offenders’ criminal records, which may impede them from keeping or obtaining a job.
Possession Includes Paraphernalia
In addition to marijuana and/or drug possession, it is illegal in Texas to sell, manufacture or use drug paraphernalia – or possess paraphernalia with the intent to do so. Drug paraphernalia includes items used for growing, harvesting, selling or using marijuana. Possession of drug paraphernalia can bring about a fine of up to $500 without the possibility of jail time.
Consequences of Drug Possession
Possession of marijuana is a very serious charge in Texas and comes along with a number of consequences depending on the amount in possession.
- Two ounces or less – Having up to two ounces of marijuana in your possession is a Class B misdemeanor that can bring about jail time of up to 180 days, fines up to $2,000 and driver’s license suspension for six months.
- Two ounces but less than four ounces – Having at least two but less than four ounces of marijuana in your possession is a Class A misdemeanor that can lead to jail time for up to one year, fines up to $4,000 or both.
- Four ounces or more (up to five pounds) – Having anywhere from four ounces to five pounds of marijuana in your possession is a felony offense that can lead to a maximum of two years in prison, fines up to $10,000 or both.
Other penalties of drug possession include mandatory drug tests, probation and drug education classes. To ensure your rights are protected, you need the skilled guidance from an experienced defense attorney.
Contact Our Marijuana Attorneys When Facing Possession Charges
If you are accused of violating state or federal laws related to drug possession, contact our experienced marijuana lawyers for counsel and representation. We are ready and able to protect your rights and defend your freedom. Call us at (940) 387-3518, or contact us here to set up a consultation regarding our marijuana possession services.