Collaborative law is a procedure in which the parties and their counsel agree in writing to use their best efforts and make a good-faith attempt to resolve their case on an agreed basis without resorting to judicial intervention, except to have the family court approve the settlement agreement. The parties’ counsel may not serve as litigation counsel except to ask the court to approve the settlement agreement. Collaborative law is a rapidly growing alternative to traditional divorce litigation, as it seeks to create an environment where the parties’ dispute is presented as a problem to be solved, rather than a contest to be won.
The party filing for divorce must have been a domiciliary of the State of Texas for six months, and a resident of the county in which the suit is filed for 90 days.
Yes. Texas courts may not grant a divorce before the 60th day after the date the suit was filed.
Yes. On June 26, 2015, the United States Supreme Court extended the right of marriage to same-sex couples.
Yes, in certain limited circumstances. The Texas Family Code defines “maintenance” as an award (in a suit for dissolution of a marriage) of periodic payments from the future income of one spouse for the support of the other spouse.
Texas courts may order one spouse to pay maintenance to the other if the spouse was convicted of or received deferred adjudication for a criminal offense that also constitutes an act of family violence within the last two years or while the suit is pending. Additionally, Texas Courts may award spousal maintenance if the duration of the marriage was 10 years or longer:
Courts must consider:
Yes. Courts presume that a spousal maintenance is not warranted unless the spouse seeking maintenance has exercised diligence in seeking suitable employment or developed the necessary skills to become self-supportive during the period of separation after the divorce was filed.
Yes. Unless the spouse receiving maintenance is unable to be self-supportive due to an incapacitating mental or physical disability, a court may not order maintenance payments for more than: 1) five years if the spouses were married for at least 10 years but not more than 20 years; 2) seven years if the spouses were married for at least 20 years but not more than 30 years; and 3) 10 years if the spouses were married for 30 or more years. But those limits are the maximums allowed by law. And within each period, Texas courts must limit the duration of maintenance payments to the shortest reasonable period that allows the spouse receiving maintenance to obtain the appropriate skills and employment for self-support.
Yes. The Texas Family Code recognizes “informal marriage” as existing when a man and woman agreed to be married and when after the agreement they lived together in Texas as husband and wife and represented to others that they were married. A person under 18 years of age may not be a party to an informal marriage or execute a “declaration of informal marriage.”
A declaration of informal marriage is a form provided by the county clerk’s office in which a man and woman may provide necessary background information and take an oath to the information veracity. The county clerk then files the declaration form and sends a copy to the Bureau of Vital Statistics. A properly recorded declaration is prima facie evidence of the marriage of the parties.
A spouse’s separate property consists of:
Community property is the property, other than separate property, acquired by either spouse during marriage.
Yes. According to the Texas Family Code, a “premarital agreement” is an agreement between prospective spouses made in contemplation of marriage that is effective upon marriage.
Parties to a premarital agreement may contract with respect to:
However, the right of a child to receive child support may not be adversely affected by a premarital agreement.
Yes. Upon the filing of a petition for divorce, the court may grant a divorce without regard to fault if the marriage has become “insupportable” due to discord or conflict that destroys the legitimate ends of the marital relationship and destroys any reasonable expectation of reconciliation.
Yes. A court may grant a divorce for cruelty, adultery, and conviction of a felony offense during marriage, abandonment for more than one year, and living apart without cohabitation for at least three years (if the other spouse is confined in state mental hospital for at least three years).
One party might plead cruelty or adultery as a basis to justify an unequal division of the property in favor of the other spouse or to use against the other spouse in a child custody case.
"Absolute best in the business hands down! Don White is absolutely amazing wouldn’t ever consider using anyone else, we highly recommend this firm!" - Alyssa McKissaack
"The best! Richard has been my family’s attorney for 35 years. Integrity best describes Richard Hayes." - John Grafa
"From my first meeting with Mr. Berry and his staff, I was immediately relieved. The bankruptcy process was explained to me simply and objectively and I was made to feel at ease through the entire ordeal. I was especially impressed by his helpful and knowledgeable assistant, Jackie Cox. I would hope to be able to retain Byron Berry for any future needs." - Anonymous
"Great Firm with Great Lawyers! It was a great pleasure working with William and his team." - Collin R. Geis